ROW80 Update 9-7

Welcome! Super short update today. This weekend saw a city festival for us celebrating Labor Day. Having won a special package from the day job, my family and I made the most of it culminating in a Stone Temple Pilots concert late Sunday night (my younger daughters first official rock concert). Monday was all about family and relaxation, which is what Labor Day is for, in my opinion.

So far this week I’ve managed one chapter of Description & Setting and about 300 words on the WIP. I also wrote the blog post that will follow this for my Designing from Bones series.

That’s it for now. I hope all of your Labor Day weekends were great ones.

Peaceful Journeys!

About Gene Lempp

Gene Lempp is a writer blending elements of alternate history, the paranormal, fantasy, science fiction and horror for dark and delicious fun. He unearths stories by digging into history, archeology, myth and fable in his Designing from Bones blog series. β€œOnly the moment is eternal and in a moment, everything will change,” sums the heart of his philosophy. You can find Gene at his Blog, Twitter, Facebook, Goodreads, WANATribe, Google+, Pinterest and StumbleUpon.
This entry was posted in ROW80 Updates and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to ROW80 Update 9-7

  1. Jenny Hansen says:

    Nice Labor Day, Gene! I’ll bet STP were awesome. I love that lead singer’s voice. Was your daughter excited?

    p.s. I just sat here having an OMG, I’m getting old moment…my first rock concert was 7/2/82 at the Rose Bowl – Journey, Triumph, Aldo Nova and the Blue Oyster Cult. The second one was the next year – David Bowie, Madness and the Go-Go’s. I don’t even think most of those bands are together anymore!!

  2. K.B. Owen says:

    Jenny, you’re not as old as I am, lol! We were listening to Boston and Styxx in high school. Glad your Labor Day was a nice family time, Gene. πŸ™‚

  3. Kerry Meacham says:

    Love, love, love STP Gene. Interstate Love Song is one of my favorites. I hope you guys enjoyed it.

    Just a couple more weeks on ROW80 bro. Keep it going. Off to write mine now.

  4. Ruth Nestvold says:

    Sounds like it was great fun, Gene! Hope the rest of the week goes well for you and is full of a lot more words! πŸ™‚

  5. C.M. Cipriani says:

    WOO STP!!! Sounds like a great Labor Day weekend.

  6. yikici says:

    We don’t have Labor Day here in the UK -but it sounds like you had fun with the famile and that’s always a good thing πŸ™‚ You still mananged to get some writing done so thats super-duper too πŸ™‚

    Have a great week.

  7. First concert memories! Sigh….Now our kids are having these ‘firsts’. My first concert was Heart, 1986 – Now our kids are going to see bands like Blink 182, Cotton Mouth Kings (really??), and the yearly favorite – Warp Tour! What an awesome weekend with your family, Gene! ~ Nadja

    • Gene Lempp says:

      By the way…STP ROCKED!!! They were recording studio “ON” and I managed to get us right by the soundboard so we have perfect sound, a big screen to watch on and were out of the mosh pit zone. My younger daughter loved it, but was freezing by the end (outdoor concert). She’s running around school now telling all her friends and gaining fame and fortune πŸ™‚

      Jennie: My first concert was Genesis at the Rosemont Horizon in Chicago in 1985. I think I have most of the groups you listed on my MP3 player. Thanks for making me feel old with you *smile*

      Nadja: Love Heart. I still have quite of few of their songs on my player. Yeah, I was a sappy teen once and a part of my heart will always carry that πŸ™‚

      Thanks so much for all your comments. You all made have made my day and I guarantee I’m wearing a big smile right now thanks to your support and friendship πŸ™‚

  8. amy kennedy says:

    Sounds good. And Stone Temple Pilots! How cool was that? Designing from Bones, sounds very interesting (have no idea what it is, but can’t wait to find out).

    • Gene Lempp says:

      Amy: Designing from Bones is my regular weekly series. I blend history and myth and use them to reveal story possibilities. I hope you’ll give it a look πŸ™‚

      Wendy & Sonia: Thanks, I appreciate the supportive comments!

      Katy: Simply Red is a simply good. Thanks πŸ™‚

  9. Wendy says:

    Sounds like you had a great weekend. That is always refreshing. Keep up the good work!

  10. Sounds like so much fun! Glad you had a great weekend and hope your week’s spectacular!

  11. Katy Bennett says:

    Sounds like you had a well earned break. I think my first concert was Simply Red. Best of luck for the rest of the week.

  12. jamilajamison says:

    I’m really jealous over all of these concert experiences! I wasn’t actually allowed to go to concerts until I was in college, so the first band I ever saw was the country duo, Big & Rich, who were great, but nothing compared to the awesomeness that is Heart, Journey, STP, or Blue Oyster Cult. Journey, however, is back on tour these days, so I’m hoping I can see them soon.

    Glad to see you had a great holiday weekend!

I'd love to chat with you!

