ROW80 Update 8-31

Welcome!

August is about to drift away from us. Where I live, the acorns are falling in staccato against the roof. The squirrels are happy and full. The first scent of autumn is wafting on the breeze. My favorite time of year is approaching and no matter what life has thrown, it has been a good year.

I am working to find a new balance through the shifts of life but the road seems ready for me to trod upon once more. And trod I have *smile*

Sunday, I was able to get in several hours of writing time and netted 2023 words. I’m hoping to get another block of time later today, Friday and Saturday which should put me well over my goal of 3000 words per week.

I have managed to read another 30 pages in Description & Setting by Roz Rozelle. If you haven’t read this book, add it to your list. Rozelle has an easy voice (like Barry White in text) and presents excellent information in a clean and concise manner.

I’ve been off of 750words for around 10 days and hope to get back into it later this week. There are also no new queued posts but I now have a list of topics and a pile of research prepared that will allow me to structure and write them in short order. WIP has priority though, that is just how it is.

The treadmill sent me a letter asking me if I still loved it. Um, yeah. I do. This afternoon, I’ll be back on the treadmill trail and am looking forward to it. Let me tell you, the exercise free days are taking a toll on my energy and my body is rebelling against the lack of exercise.

That’s all for now. I hope all of you are doing well and enjoying the last days of summer. Find a moment to watch the squirrels and the clouds, to hear the whisper of autumn in the leaves, to catch the scent of soon-fading flowers on the breeze. Enjoy life.

Peaceful Journeys!

About Gene Lempp

Gene Lempp is a writer blending elements of alternate history, the paranormal, fantasy, science fiction and horror for dark and delicious fun. He unearths stories by digging into history, archeology, myth and fable in his Designing from Bones blog series. β€œOnly the moment is eternal and in a moment, everything will change,” sums the heart of his philosophy. You can find Gene at his Blog, Twitter, Facebook, Goodreads, WANATribe, Google+, Pinterest and StumbleUpon.
This entry was posted in ROW80 Updates and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to ROW80 Update 8-31

  1. Jenny Hansen says:

    Wow, Gene…you made me feel peaceful just reading this. πŸ™‚

    I do think my favorite line is “Barry White in text”….Classic!

  2. jamilajamison says:

    Hah, I agree with Jenny! “Barry White in text” is pretty awesome. πŸ˜€

    Where I live, September brings some of our warmest weather, so I’m looking forward to basking in the sun before autumn enters in full force. Glad to hear that things are proceeding on an even keel. Enjoy the first days of autumn!

    • Gene Lempp says:

      We get a burst of warm weather in late September/early October but on either side of that are cooler, pleasant days. Enjoy the last burst of warmth, Jamila πŸ™‚

  3. Em says:

    I too love Autumn. Sounds like you have had a productive week and I will add that book to my list, it sounds great!

    Enjoy your treadmill this afternoon and enjoy focusing on your WIP.

    • Gene Lempp says:

      Autumn is the best, the weather cools, the world paints itself into a blur of color and you can feel the comfort of the years “evening” season.

      Thanks, Em. Hope you have a great week as well πŸ™‚

  4. kerrymeacham says:

    Nice job ROWbro. Fall is just around the corner, but it’s supposed to be 101 in St. Louis tomorrow. WTH? Have a good one, and rock on.

  5. Amanda Rudd says:

    I know you’ve already received one, but I couldn’t resist nominated you for a Versatile Blogger Award when I got one.

    The Versaltile Blogger Award

    • Gene Lempp says:

      Amanda: Cool, Amanda, I appreciate it! Since I have this award already, I’ll pass it on to five others on Sunday as a part of my next ROW80 Update.

      Congrats to you πŸ™‚

      Matt: One of them might be, guess I should keep them apart. Thanks for the comment πŸ™‚

  6. Matt says:

    In a relationship with a WIP and a Treadmill? Sounds like a tough love triangle. Is one of them a vampire?

    πŸ˜›

    At least something is getting done, right? Good work, keep ROWing!

  7. Marji Laine says:

    Wish you could send some of your cool weather southward. Still bristling hot here, but hope is on the horizon.

    Hope your ideas and piles of research lead to easy word flows when you get back to them!

    • Gene Lempp says:

      Marji: The mornings here are cool but by mid-afternoon we are still hitting the 80’s. Hoping it pays off as well, thanks πŸ™‚

      Elizabeth: As I am a writer first, it seems fitting that the WIP should hold the highest value. After all, no product, no reason to do the rest of this. Have a great weekend πŸ™‚

  8. Ah, you make me miss autumn! Actually, it will come to north Florida, where we actually have deciduous trees, but it will be about Thanksgiving before our trees turn.

    You’re doing great on goals as August fades into the past, not that I’m surprised! You have made the tough (but right) decision on the WIP; I need to go back and court mine.

    Have a great long weekend!

  9. Wendy says:

    Very good check-in. Sounds like the weather is great where ever you are. It’s still hot here, so I am ready for fall. Lots of progress, keep it up!

  10. Ruth Nestvold says:

    Great going on keeping up your weekly word goals, Gene! I think I have to get back to something like that again. Nothing but revisions is starting to get a little frustrating. :/

    Have a great rest of the week!

  11. jenniefire says:

    I like these updates, and I almost feel like I should doing something similar. It sounds like you are really thinking through everything you want to accomplish and sticking yourself to it. Good work Gene!

  12. Great advice Gene to take the time to appreciate the changing of the season. I love fall – it’s my favorite season, and I tend to get a nice creative boost. Best wishes to hit that 3k by the end of the week πŸ™‚ Way to go with all that you’ve been doing…and the treadmill of course!

    Marie

  13. Gene, you are doing great! Sometimes Sundays are the best day to get some writing done….BTW, I love that your treadmill writes you letters. LMAO πŸ™‚

    • Gene Lempp says:

      Tiffany: Sunday was a great day for writing. Laugh now, but you know the day will come when all of our household appliances will communicate with us like they are members of the family. The toaster will tease you that its going to burn the toast. The coffee maker will complain of feeling tired. πŸ™‚

      Becca: I love the work that you and Angela do over at Bookshelf Muse and have your site on speed dial for writing emergencies. When your nine days of cool weather come I hope you are able to enjoy them. Thanks for stopping by, I appreciate the support πŸ™‚

  14. becca puglisi says:

    Hi, Gene! You’ve been such a good friend to Angela and me, I wanted to pop over to your blog and throw some support your way. Kudos for setting a goal and sticking to it. And I’m so jealous that you’re so close to Autumn. We get about 9 days of it in south Florida. #sigh

    Becca @ The Bookshelf Muse

I'd love to chat with you!

