ROW80 Update and Tagged!

Hello everyone! Most of you know that due to a major life event I suspended my goals last week. Things are starting to settle down a bit now and I hope to resume my goals this week, although there are likely to be a few adjustments over the coming days. I did manage to read about 30 pages of Description & Setting by Roz Rozelle. This is a fantastic book and I’m learning a great deal; one can never know too much about the craft.

That is my update, but before you leave, I was tagged by my good friend and author, Shea MacLeod last Wednesday and challenged to post 10 Random Facts about myself. I, of course, could not resist the challenge, especially when it allows me to tag four of my friends to do the same.

Here are 10 Random Facts about me.

10) I collect statuettes of Dragons and Wolves. My office is host to dozens of small (and a few not so small) statues ranging from miniature wolves to a Dragon’s Head bust named Aaron (the employees at the place I purchased it from named it and made me promise to keep the name) that guards my office door.

9) I have an Associates Degree in Health & Nutrition that I picked up over the course of a seven year career as a Nursing Assistant (my early twenties and a distant memory).

8 ) I once lost my license for almost two years as a result of a dozen (or more, I lost count) speeding tickets. Most of the tickets came as a result of rushing to work (as a Nursing Assistant). Since getting it back, I am rarely late or speed. Character Arc *grins*

7) I was briefly an HTML programmer for an AOL Chatroom group and travelled to Nashville to meet the other members (back in the “Wild West” days of the Internet when bad things occasionally happened to those that wandered off the ranch).

6) I have watched the movies Legend (Tom Cruise) and Labyrinth (David Bowie) over 50 times each. This was an attempt to avoid the Disney movies when my daughters were little, it didn’t really work (will not even mention Lion King and Mulan *twitches*).

5) I have a secret love for the show Deadliest Catch and have never missed an episode. Something about watching these guys crab fish makes me feel better about my life. Jake Anderson on the Northwestern is my favorite.

4) For relaxation, I play Total War (Napoleon and Medieval). I am not the first-person-shoot-my-foot-off type, strategy and tactics (and real “level-up” RPG’s) are my loves.

3) I was introduced to Dungeons & Dragons at the age of 7 by my uncle. This was only a couple years after the game was first created, what became known as the “Original Version” (yes, I still have the paperback books for it). I later rewrote the rules for the game (very similar to AD&D 3rd Edition, but 10 years before 3rd Edition came out).

2) Being that I grew up less than a mile from where D&D was test-played and friends with the shop owner where the game sessions were held, I got to know both Gary Gygax and Dave Arneson (the co-creators of the game). I played under both of them at different times through my high school years.

1) The single most random thing about me: I can speak squirrel. I speak. They listen and chatter back at me. It’s odd (at least my wife thinks so) but true.

Okay, enough about me. Now the four people that I am tagging and challenging to present 10 Random Facts about themselves in a future blog post are:

1) Kerry Meacham

2) Tiffany A. White

3) Marcia Richards

4) Lyn Midnight (a.k.a. Violeta Nedkova)

I’m looking forward to your responses. Have a great week.

Peaceful Journeys!

About Gene Lempp

Gene Lempp is a writer blending elements of alternate history, the paranormal, fantasy, science fiction and horror for dark and delicious fun. He unearths stories by digging into history, archeology, myth and fable in his Designing from Bones blog series. “Only the moment is eternal and in a moment, everything will change,” sums the heart of his philosophy. You can find Gene at his Blog, Twitter, Facebook, Goodreads, WANATribe, Google+, Pinterest and StumbleUpon.
This entry was posted in ROW80 Updates and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to ROW80 Update and Tagged!

  1. LOVE it! I am desperate for a dragon collection, but have no room. Boo and hiss. And I very often get accused of having played D & D, but honest I haven’t. I would have LOVED to, but my parents considered it “of the Devil”. Heh.

    • Gene Lempp says:

      I have a pair of glass dragons that sit on the top of my desk and at a certain time of day catch the sun and spread “dragon fire” throughout the room. It’s okay to admit playing D & D and my parents agreed with yours but it was easier to let me play then to try to stop me 🙂

  2. Stephanie says:

    I love the idea of 10 Random Things. I may have to borrow-slash-steal it. I hope it’s OK and you won’t send one of your dragons – or wolves – after me.

    Have a good one…

  3. C.M. Cipriani says:

    Those are quite some facts! The squirrel speaking reminded me of Kronk from Emperor’s New Groove (which is Disney LOL) so forever I’ll hear your writing in Kronk’s voice now.

    Squeeker-squeek-squeeken

    Crystal

    • Gene Lempp says:

      Thanks! That is actually a great compliment and I’m honored. See, I’m a fan of Patrick Warburton (The Tick, Big Trouble, Emperor’s New Groove and others). Sure, ONE was Disney but my kids only watched that one around a dozen times so I’m still okay with it 🙂

      Squeek-squeeken-squeeity (translation: Have a great week, Crystal).

  4. Ruth Nestvold says:

    What fun, Gene! Thanks for sharing. I speak cat, btw. The feral cat that visits our garden plot answers me too when I speak her language.

    Have a good week!

  5. Cool stuff Gene. Linda Burke tagged me too, but my timing has been off due to work and being on the road (iPhoning it again today). I’m glad things are settling down a little for you. Have a great Sunday.

  6. Em says:

    Fascinating list! It is so nice to know more about people especially random things!

    I hope you are ok and things are calmer for you this week.

    • Gene Lempp says:

      Kerry: Feel free to double up on the tagging. Enjoy the day 🙂

      Em: Things do seem to be calming and I’m excited to get back to writing and working in a new schedule. Glad you enjoyed the “random”.

  7. Linda Burke says:

    Great list. I have collected a few oriental dragons and an elephant or two.

    Did you know if you hiss at wasps and bees they will leave your vicinity? Try it.

    Of course my kids think I’m crazy/funny but it works. Haven’t been stung once since learning that. (I’m allergic to their stings – swell up like a balloon.)

  8. Marcia says:

    Very cool list, Gene! The collection of dragons and wolves doesn’t surprise. Neither does the squirrel comunication, oddly. How great it must have been knowing the guys who created D&D! It’s a huge esteem booster to be that good at a popular video game, too. Your teens years must have felt amazing. Wow! I’m honored to be tagged and truly looking forward to it. On my way to work on my list! Thanks, buddy!

  9. Love the 10 random facts. I think it helps everyone learn more about you. Everyone should have a 10 random facts page on their blog.

  10. Catie Rhodes says:

    Oh, very cool on the dragons and wolves. I collect witch balls. It sounds vulgar, but they’re pretty neat.

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Witch_ball

    I loved learning more about one of my favorite writing buds!

    • Gene Lempp says:

      Linda: That is a cool trick with the bees. Passing it on to my wife and anyone else with a similar issue.

      Marcia: Sadly, Gary and Dave have both passed away over the past two years but they still live in my memory. My teen years were pretty amazing overall, but I would not want to relive them. Can’t wait to see your list 🙂

      Nicole: I agree with you that everyone should carry this sort of list on their site. I was planning to re-write my About page and I think I’ll add this list into it. Great suggestion!

      Catie: Witch balls are super cool, especially the ones with cloud-like designs. Glad you enjoyed the Randomness 🙂

  11. Pingback: 10 Random Facts « Linda Burke's Blog

  12. #2 & #3 – Very cool. I knew guys that played in grade and high school, and I kind of regret not having played before meeting my husband in my mid-20s. Gaming is such an interesting way of story-telling.

    Random fact: I once accidentally tripped Walter Koenig at a scifi convention.

    • Gene Lempp says:

      It was ultra-cool getting to play under Gary and Dave, both were excellent storytellers and playing a role with them was always a blast.

      Tripped Walter Koenig, well, I’m sure it wasn’t the first time somethings unusual happened to him at a con. I’d think that would be one of the occupational hazards 🙂

  13. Very enjoyable to read ten facts about you – love that you got speeding tickets just for rushing to work…that’s dedication! lol. I’m going to have to check out the craft book you mentioned…I agree, you can’t read enough books about craft. We are all students for life 🙂

    I hope you have another successful week no matter what it is that you’re doing!

    Marie

    • Gene Lempp says:

      I may have been a bit overzealous in my work ethic when I was young. Now I just leave earlier 🙂

      Rozelle’s Description & Setting is fantastic. He is both an author and a college-level writing professor. Smooth style and voice. “We are all students for life”, nothing more true!

      Have a great week, Marie.

  14. yikici says:

    I’d like to witness the squirrell talk 🙂 and i’m impressed you studied nursing -I didn’t know -it’s a tough job to maintain -no doubt rewarding in parts.

    I love that you are staying positive regardless of whats happening around you. 🙂

    • Gene Lempp says:

      Nursing was a rewarding career but as I gained a family and children I had to move on to better paying options. The squirrel talk is indeed impressive. Some freak out and run, others stop, stand up on their hind legs and listen raptly. Love the squirrels.

      Thanks for your support. It is appreciated 🙂

  15. K.B. Owen says:

    Cool stuff, Gene! My hubby likes Rome Total War and Medieval Total War. Our oldest (VCU freshman) played D & D with friends all summer. I’m going to try to persuade the squirrels in our neighborhood to visit you for a chat, lol.

  16. I really love it when an author does a “ten things” type of post. We can learn so much about each other that way! You have some interesting things in your ten things.

    I’m glad I’m not the only one who loves Labyrinth. That is such a cool movie! I need to get that on DVD so I can watch it again.

    Good luck with your continuing goals. I hope things are ok with you.

    • Gene Lempp says:

      Labyrinth is a great movie, especially for characters. I still have a copy of it on VHS (remember those) but no way to play it anymore. Finding a DVD sounds like a great idea.

      All is well here now. Thanks for your comment and support, Lauralynn 🙂

  17. jamilajamison says:

    I LOVE the fact that you can speak squirrel! When my younger sister was a toddler, the family used to joke that she had a special relationship with squirrels. They would come up to her all the time and sort of chitter and swarm about her, and pretty much ignored everyone else. Honestly, she must have a vibe of sorts — small children and animals all love her, despite the fact that she doesn’t really like them. :p

    Glad to hear that things have settled down a bit for you, Gene. All the best for the coming week!

    • Gene Lempp says:

      Your sister and I have quite a bit in common. The one exception, I’m okay with kids (and have a couple). While the squirrels never swarmed up to me, I have had them follow (i.e. stalk) me when I’ve been on hikes or waiting at the opening of my tent when I wake up while camping. It used to weird me out but over the years I’ve found a certain comfort in it.

      Thanks for the support, Jamila! Have a great week 🙂

  18. I always enjoy visiting your site, Gene. And your ten random facts kept up your winning streak. Lots of fun and smiles. And Jenny Hansen’s here. Thanks!
    Fae Rowen

I'd love to chat with you!

