ROW80 Update 8-21

Well it’s been another long chaotic week but that didn’t slow me down. I was able to hold to all of my goals but one this week.

Here’s how it went.

Added 3778 words to the WIP and more will be coming after I finish this update. I’m working through my craft books and finding lots of correlation that will be helpful in designing my Standard Operating Procedure. I’m finding that I’m able to expand on information in one book with what is in another. For an example, both Larry Brooks and Blake Snyder talk about beats. While Larry brings this up in reference to story milestones, Blake mentions them in reference to segments of a movie script design. They correlate, expand on each other and give a full overview of what to plan for. This is just one example, but let me tell you, I’m lovin’ it!

I have a five day streak going on 750words. I think in the next round I’ll be adjusting this goal more in line with my ROWbro Kerry Meacham’s idea of leaving some flexibility for days off. While I try to get to it every day it is sometimes nearly impossible and I do plenty of writing. 750 has done everything I was hoping to get out of it, I’m able to think and type more cleanly and at a faster pace.

I am reading Description and Setting by Roz Rozelle currently. Even though I’m only on page 22 I have already picked up a huge number of tips. Rozelle talks about the blending of description with writer voice in terms that it make understanding both aspects clear.

No new queued posts added this week, but that isn’t a surprise. I have one guest post to write today and then I’ll be working on my regular weeklies. I’m still hopeful on this one but I know I’m running out of time.

The treadmill went well although I missed on it yesterday due to an unforeseen family event that kept me out of the house for most of the day. I’m not worried about this though. New week. New opportunities to succeed.

Well that is all for this update. How did your week go? Are you finding success? Struggling with something?

I hope the coming week is awesome for all of you. “People can achieve anything they desire, it’s getting past ourselves that is the big obstacle” -my quote from a Twitter conversation yesterday.

Peaceful Journeys!

About Gene Lempp

Gene Lempp is a writer blending elements of alternate history, the paranormal, fantasy, science fiction and horror for dark and delicious fun. He unearths stories by digging into history, archeology, myth and fable in his Designing from Bones blog series. β€œOnly the moment is eternal and in a moment, everything will change,” sums the heart of his philosophy. You can find Gene at his Blog, Twitter, Facebook, Goodreads, WANATribe, Google+, Pinterest and StumbleUpon.
This entry was posted in ROW80 Updates and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to ROW80 Update 8-21

  1. kerrymeacham says:

    Keep it going ROWbro. You’re doing awesome, and we’re into the ROW80 home stretch now. I’m off to do my post now.

  2. Katy Bennett says:

    I’ve been hit and miss this week, brain went into holiday mode early. Good that you’re still focused and setting an example for all of us. Best of luck for the rest of August.

  3. Great job this week. I’ve just starting 750words.com. I have like a two day streak but I plan to get up to 750 words every day!

  4. As Kerry says, you’re going strong into the last furlongs of the race. Well done! I love the twitter quotation–I need to print that on the back of my eyelids.

    It’s been a tough week for me, not so much falling off on the goals, but fighting the black hole of Compare and Despair. Still fighting, though.

    Have a great week, Gene.

  5. Em says:

    Sounds like another productive week for you! I definately agree that we are our own biggest obstacles and if we remember that hopefully we will achieve more!

    Have a great week 8!

  6. alberta ross says:

    that twitter comment – great – will have to keep in my brain at all times – sounds like you’e doing okay – all the best for next week

    • Gene Lempp says:

      Thanks to everyone for the wonderful comments. Much appreciated πŸ™‚

      Nancy: We all are in that same “black hole” at times. Keep the faith in yourself πŸ™‚

  7. Wendy says:

    Very good check-in. Sounds like lots of progress and hard work. And I love the quote. Thanks for sharing.

  8. Great progress. Your word count is high! I thought your last quote on this post was going to be a famous author…maybe its a prediction of where you’re heading??? πŸ™‚

    • Gene Lempp says:

      Wendy: Glad you enjoyed the quote. Thanks for the support πŸ™‚

      Nicole: LOL Thanks! I’m working hard to get there but I’ll take just being published. Small steps, long journey πŸ™‚

      Have a great week!

  9. I love your Twitter quote – and great progress. Don’t be so hard on yourself about not having any blog posts queued up. That is more difficult than it sounds. Good luck this week!

    • Gene Lempp says:

      I am finding that queuing up posts is not easy. The funny thing is, I have three (of fifteen) done and six more in states of preparation. So, with one day concentrated on it I should be able to leap forward. Kerry and I have discussed possible solutions and I have a plan to get it done by the end of Round Three. Now if I can get the universe to align with my plan πŸ™‚

  10. Great job. Love the twitter quote – so true. I have a tendency to write posts and put them up as soon as their done. No queuing. Find I don’t have time to spend writing a lot of posts to schedule. Easier to get er done and post it. Have a great week.

    • Gene Lempp says:

      I have been doing them on “short order” but as other projects ramp up it would be nice to have a few in queue for emergencies, for when I really just want to sit back and write without having to consider the blog, for when weeks like the ones I’ve been having happen.

      Glad you enjoyed the quote πŸ™‚

  11. Pingback: Row80 Update – 8/21/11 | Jenny Hansen's Blog

  12. Jenny Hansen says:

    As one who had that Twitter conversation with you, I agree that it is true (and even more awesome to see it here closing your great update)! Congrats on that awesome word count. I’m having to change it up a bit to get what I want on that front. We’ll see. I’m gonna find a way to rock that goal if it kills me (and some days it feels like it might).

    • Gene Lempp says:

      It was (and always is) a great conversation with you Jen. I know what you mean on the goal trying to kill you some days, same here, but we press on and do our best. What counts is progress. Thanks for the support πŸ™‚

  13. Ruth Nestvold says:

    Great progress, Gene! I too think that Blake Snyder’s book is very useful and even made my own beat sheet for short stories based on it. Rozelle’s book is on my “to read” shelf, and after your comments, I think I’ll have to move it to the top of the pile. πŸ™‚

    • Gene Lempp says:

      Ruth: I’m planning to do a beat sheet for the current WIP (novel & trilogy). I’m merging this with Brook’s milestones from Story Engineering. No idea if it will work or not, but I’m willing to refine the concept as I go. Rozelle’s style and voice is very good, reading him is like listening to a smooth voiced college professor (which he apparently is).

      Farouk: Thanks for the support πŸ™‚

  14. farouk says:

    that’s a great progress
    keep it up πŸ™‚

  15. jamilajamison says:

    Keep up the wonderful work, Gene! And I love that quote — it’s so very true. Twitter is a treasure trove of wisdom. πŸ˜€

    Enjoy your week!

  16. EllieAnn says:

    great job with your goals this week! You have a lot of devotion to your art. =) And I loved your quote in the end. Good luck this week!

  17. deniz says:

    Standard Operating Procedures! Ha ha, I’ve just been calling them lists [g] I’ve got to be more creative [g]

I'd love to chat with you!

