ROW80 Update 8-17

Hi Everyone! This will be quick today, another busy week.

Here’s how the goals are going.

  • 2225 words on the WIP so far this week.
  • I lost track of 750 words yesterday while at jury duty and missed a day. Sigh. Back to square one but that’s life.
  • I’ll be starting Description & Setting by Roz Rozelle later today. Looking forward to seeing what techniques it has in store for me.
  • Treadmill is going well and my younger daughter will be joining in the exercise fest soon. She isn’t all that thrilled about it yet, but I know that will change.
  • No new queued posts but it’s still early in the week.

That’s it for now. How has your week been?

Peaceful Journeys!

About Gene Lempp

Gene Lempp is a writer blending elements of alternate history, the paranormal, fantasy, science fiction and horror for dark and delicious fun. He unearths stories by digging into history, archeology, myth and fable in his Designing from Bones blog series. β€œOnly the moment is eternal and in a moment, everything will change,” sums the heart of his philosophy. You can find Gene at his Blog, Twitter, Facebook, Goodreads, WANATribe, Google+, Pinterest and StumbleUpon.
This entry was posted in ROW80 Updates and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to ROW80 Update 8-17

  1. Jenny Hansen says:

    Hey, Gene! Hopefully you scheduled this and aren’t still awake. πŸ™‚

    Hope jury duty passes quickly. Do they at least let you have a notebook and pen in there??

    Have a great ROW80 week!

    • Gene Lempp says:

      Actually…I wrote this right after I woke up this morning. Yep, I get up early.

      Jury duty is actually over. It was brain-numbing fun. Have a great week πŸ™‚

  2. Halfway across the world I’m leaving this comment mid-morning.

    Somehow I missed four days of 750 Words myself. I have no idea how that happened. Did I go awol while I wasn’t looking?

    Please explain “brain-numbing fun”

    • Gene Lempp says:

      Odd how that happens, the mind taking a vacation.

      Brain-numbing fun = sitting around for 8 hours listening to repititious questions to other people and then being told thanks for showing up you can go home now.

  3. C.M. Cipriani says:

    I’ve looked at that 750 words (which just happens to be my goal) but *whispers* it scares me.

    Thanks for your public service of Jury Duty!

    • Gene Lempp says:

      Civic duty should never be shirked.

      750words shouldn’t be scary. Really it is just a motivator to be get people in the habit of writing. All the challenges, badges, etc are icing all bent on the same end…get writers to write. Some people slam the 750 out in 5 minutes while I’ve seen others take 500+ minutes. The point, is to write. Daily.

      Have a great week, Crystal πŸ™‚

  4. kerrymeacham says:

    Great job ROWbro. Keep up the good work.

  5. Em says:

    I am always impressed with how you manage to fit it in reading books about writing, this is something I definately need to think about. Well done on the word count and the treadmill. Hope you next 750 word streak goes well!

    • Gene Lempp says:

      Kerry: Thanks ROWbro!

      Em: I read for 30 minutes a day (at least). Sometimes this is in 5-10 minute bursts while I’m waiting somewhere, on a work break, etc. On the weekends I usually double this. It is important to constantly be adding to and polishing our craft skills. Thanks for the 750 well-wish, I hope it does to πŸ™‚

  6. Wow – sounds like a successful week! Congrats, and keep up the healthy habits πŸ™‚

    Marie

  7. Stephanie says:

    Sounds like you’re on track for the most part. Good stuff.
    I should work writing-related reading into my schedule. That’s a great idea.
    And congrats on taking time to exercise. Being a personal trainer, I know how important it is, but I have a bad habit of neglecting the equipment calling to me from the next room.
    Have a great day, Gene.

    • Gene Lempp says:

      Exercise has been a huge help. So much so, that it has become non-negotiable time for me, no matter what is going on I will get the walk in.

      Thanks for the supportive comment πŸ™‚

  8. Wendy says:

    Sounds like you’re doing great even with the extra duties. Keep up the good work!

  9. jamilajamison says:

    Glad to see that things are going well, Gene. I slacked off a little on the exercise front over the past week, but I am recommitted to getting back on my glider and taking care of that goal.

    Have a wonderful rest of the week!

  10. It’s sounds like things are going pretty well. πŸ˜€ You really inspired me with the post que. I’ve got two series lined up now. Not totally written out but I know where I’m going with them. Thanks!

  11. Good job on the wip. Sounds like everything is going well. We all slacked on the exercise the past week as well due to various illness but got back on the treadmill yesterday. My son’s not so keen on the exercise fest as well.

I'd love to chat with you!

