ROW80 Update 8-10

Overtime at the day job is taking a lovely bite out of my time this week so I’ll keep this one brief. My new Designing from Bones is up and I’m also guest blogging over at Manon Eileen’s site today on WriteWay Pro (link will be provided once the post is up).

Here’s my update for the first half of this week.

  • Nothing added to the WIP so far which means I’ll have to kick it into hyper gear over the remainder of the week.
  • I’m on a 10-day streak with 750words and still in the August challenge.
  • Made it to page 204 in Characters, Emotion and Viewpoint. I wanted this done Sunday but life events disrupted my schedule. The book will be complete by the next update (hopefully, later today in fact).
  • All good on the treadmill. Loving the workouts.
  • No new posts queued but I haven’t been idle either. As I mentioned above, I’m on Manon’s site today and I’ll be on Anne-Mhairi Simpson’s site Friday.

That’s all for now. How has your week been?

Peaceful Journeys!

About Gene Lempp

Gene Lempp is a writer blending elements of alternate history, the paranormal, fantasy, science fiction and horror for dark and delicious fun. He unearths stories by digging into history, archeology, myth and fable in his Designing from Bones blog series. β€œOnly the moment is eternal and in a moment, everything will change,” sums the heart of his philosophy. You can find Gene at his Blog, Twitter, Facebook, Goodreads, WANATribe, Google+, Pinterest and StumbleUpon.
This entry was posted in ROW80 Updates and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to ROW80 Update 8-10

  1. Jenny Hansen says:

    Gene,

    I can hear the peaceful (buff) new you growing bigger and stronger through this whole Round 3. You. Go. πŸ™‚

  2. Kerry Meacham says:

    Hey Gene,

    Sorry I missed our update yesterday. In Buffalo, and didn’t get back until late evening.

    It looks like you’ve done well except on the WIP at this check-in, but that happens occasionally. I know you’ll be fine.

    Great job, and off to read “bones.”

  3. That reminds me, I haven’t done my 750 words today. I signed up when I saw it on your blog and I am enjoying it so far. It is a very useful limbering up exercise and I even appreciate it that the words aren’t on my computer. I don’t have to take care of them – I can just write and let the thoughts flow.

    Good luck with hyper gear, may life not interfere too much.

    • Gene Lempp says:

      I’m glad you are finding 750words useful. I like it for the same reasons you listed, good finger limbering exercise and sometimes it is great to just to lets the thoughts flow without worry.

      Thanks for the “blessing”, appreciated, and hope the same for you πŸ™‚

  4. L.S. Engler says:

    Sometimes, a lighter update is good, especially since you still seem to be really doing well! Keep it up! Meanwhile, I’m going to be over here, reminding myself that I don’t need to check out that 750words thing, because the last thing I need is another project, but…. heh.

    • Gene Lempp says:

      Okay, I’m not encouraging you…but…750words is especially good when doubled with another writing task. I’ve used it to write ROW80 updates, first drafts of posts, brainstorm ideas for posts and on the WIP, character ideas, etc. Just saying, not encouraging πŸ™‚

  5. Congrats on what you’ve accomplished this week, especially with being so busy! And extra kudos to you for including your health as a priority. Way to go!!

  6. Way impressed, Gene. I hope your busy life doesn’t get in the way of your hyper drive later in the week. I need to check out 750words too–you’re a great spokesperson for it. I’ll have to go by your guest posts, too.

    Best wishes for the rest of the week!

    • Gene Lempp says:

      Weekends tend to be far more peaceful then my week days, so I should be in good shape. I am not a paid spokesperson, just a satisfied site user.

      All the best to you as well πŸ™‚

  7. Julie Glover says:

    Good luck with the WIP the rest of the week! Sounds like the other stuff is going great! My week has been hit and miss. Frankly, I’m putting off my ROW80 update until later today in hopes that I’ll have more to report. Best wishes!

  8. Stacy Green says:

    Sounds like you’re doing well, Gene. My week’s been busy with writing my query letter and synopsis. Not fun but a necessity. Good luck for the rest of the week.

    • Gene Lempp says:

      Julie: Thanks and best of luck through the day. Here’s hoping the Muse shines and guards your path πŸ™‚

      Stacy: Those nasty necessary tasks are the ones that tend to move us forward. Best of luck through the week πŸ™‚

  9. Gene,
    Overtime is one of those double headed monsters. You must love and hate it at the same time. You hate that it steals from your time, but love the opportunity to earn the extra money for savings/home projects/add your wish or &%*& sidewalk project that screams for attention here. Especially in the economy today, my husband makes it a point to NEVER turn down overtime. Make hay while the sun shines, right?

    I made it a point to exercise this week, and while I loathe that horrible neccessity – it sure makes you feel great once you get off your rump and do it. Glad to hear you’ve found time for that!

    Keep up the 750words streak! ~ Nadja

    • Gene Lempp says:

      Hi Nadja! Interesting that I was just thinking about the “make hay while the sun shines statement”, being the middle of the week and how much I’d love to get some free time, but hey, that’s what the weekend is for.

      Exercise is non-negotiable for me now that I am seeing the energy and attitude increases that are coming along with it. Glad that you are doing some as well, it really does help over time.

      Have a great week!

  10. Sounds like you’re doing pretty well. I’ve been trying to play catch up since last week. I think it’s all getting there though. πŸ˜€ I hope you have a grand week.

  11. Katy Bennett says:

    Thanks for commenting on my blog the other day, luckily my area was unscathed but our nearest shopping centre got hit pretty bad. Sounds like you’re on track to becoming a lean fit writing machine, all the best for the remainder of the week.

I'd love to chat with you!

