ROW80 Update 8-3

Time for the midweek ROW80 update. I received such a tremendous response from the Buddy System post that I’ve decided to do a couple more in the future. I’m glad you all enjoyed it and I hope that you will be able to find a buddy you can work with, whether in ROW80 or in any other area of life.

Okay, here is today’s update.

  • I’ve added 1900 words to the WIP (Virtual Perihelion) so far this week. I am going through all of the various craft books that I’ve read in the past nine months and putting together the key ingredients, sort of a design guide. Architects use something similar and let’s be honest, writing a novel is very similar in magnitude to designing and building a house.
  • I’m back on a 3 day streak for 750words.com and all is well in the universe once more. I’m signed up for the monthly challenge and am convinced that I’ll be one of those still remaining in it at the end of the month. An interesting fun fact, only 33% of last months challenge participants made it to the end out of around 800 that signed on.
  • I’m near the midpoint in Characters, Emotion and Viewpoint by Nancy Kress, page 103 and am loving the great information it offers. Sort of a design structure for character arc with a ton of ideas on how to deepen a character and bring their emotion to life so the reader can experience it along with them.
  • No new posts queued in the past 3 days but that was expected. I’ll be adding in at least one and possibly two by the end of the week so watch this change forward on the next post. Currently, at 3 queued.
  • The treadmill is going well but I’ve hit the first physical wall. I mentioned that I have (or did have) a nice man gut going. Well that has significantly shrunk and now the muscles underneath are tightening to hold the mid-line drift in check. Today is, as my younger daughter called it, a “man pain day”. Yep those horribly under-worked muscles are complaining but I know that is a sign of improvement which makes tolerating the pain easier.

While not one of my stated goals, I have been involved in Bob Mayer’s Write It Forward class since the beginning of July and as we wind towards the end of the class I’d like to share a little about my experience. It has been fantastic. The class is focused on how we can craft ourselves into the kind of writers that truly succeed. I would highly recommend this class to all ROW80 participants the next time it comes around. I can’t begin to express how much I have learned. I now have fully defined goals to reach my desire of becoming a full-time writer and the keys to adjust myself in order to make it successfully to that point as well. It has been a deep learning experience.

That is all for now, hope your week is going well.

Peaceful Journeys!

About Gene Lempp

Gene Lempp is a writer blending elements of alternate history, the paranormal, fantasy, science fiction and horror for dark and delicious fun. He unearths stories by digging into history, archeology, myth and fable in his Designing from Bones blog series. β€œOnly the moment is eternal and in a moment, everything will change,” sums the heart of his philosophy. You can find Gene at his Blog, Twitter, Facebook, Goodreads, WANATribe, Google+, Pinterest and StumbleUpon.
This entry was posted in ROW80 Updates and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to ROW80 Update 8-3

  1. Jenny Hansen says:

    Gene, your Row80 updates always get me a little fired up (in a good way). Thanks! I need it this week.

    I understand the fight against the mid-line drift perfectly, only mine’s from baby, not beer. πŸ™‚

    • Gene Lempp says:

      Glad I could give you a boost, Jen! Oh, beer, yeah, well, I pretty much have stopped that as well. What is the point in getting rid of the beer gut if I keep fueling it?

      Have a great week πŸ™‚

  2. kerrymeacham says:

    You’re doing great ROWbro. Keep it up and thanks for all you do.

  3. Awesome stats, Gene. Keep plugging.

  4. Matt says:

    Can you get wine gut? If so, I think I’m developing that. Sort of like a plot line… with a really crappy and drawn-out climax. More of a hill than a peak. πŸ™‚

    Good to see a physical goal as well as a mental one. I try to stay active, too. One can definitely fuel the other.

    Keep ROWin!

    • Gene Lempp says:

      Pat: Thanks!

      Matt: Pretty sure you can get a wine gut. To tell the difference ask it which kind it is. If it responds in French, its wine πŸ™‚

      Thanks for the comments!

  5. I like the idea of a design guide. Newspapers and magazines have a style guide (for design and language), painters have a palette, singers have a tonal range.

    Working out what works and what doesn’t, what you can and can’t do and especially what you should and should not do eases the path just that little bit more.

    • Gene Lempp says:

      That is exactly what I am working on, but I think it this will vary from author to author as well. Some things can be taught and other things are personal choice.

      Thanks for the comment πŸ™‚

  6. “man pain day” Bwahahahaha. Okay, sorry to laugh at your pain. πŸ˜€ I need to tone up too though. I keep dragging my heels about putting it on the ROW80 goals though. I just barely put the post que on there. Sigh. Quit nudging me to improve! πŸ˜€

    Keep up the super goal-meeting!

    • Gene Lempp says:

      Sonia: Yeah, my 13-year-old is a sweetie πŸ™‚ *nudge*

      Em: Exercise is making all the difference for me. Without it I’m not sure I’d have the energy to get as much done everyday. Thanks for the comment πŸ™‚

  7. Em says:

    Really good to hear how well you are doing with your goals. I am so pleased that I added exercising to my goals even if it does mean an early morning swim tomorrow.

    The write it forward course sounds interesting, will definately keep my eyes open for it!

    Keep up the good work!

  8. Okay, Gene, enough! Ha! I’m feeling convicted over her about slacking off on my exercising habits. Now I’m going to have to do something about it…..Alright, it’s a good thing, I know.

    I am interested in learning more about the class you’re taking. ~ Nadja

    • Gene Lempp says:

      LOL! Hey, if guilt works, I’ll use it. I have two teenage daughters so its a skill I’ve honed to precision πŸ™‚

      Write It Forward is exercise for the authors career. It is the July 2011 one in the following link but I am not sure when the next one will be offered. WIF Class Link. I know that the class is based on Bob’s book of the same name which you can find here.

  9. Katy Bennett says:

    you sound very focused and disciplined, I may have to syphon some of your karma for myself. Keep it up.

  10. deniz says:

    Thanks for letting us know about the class. Sounds like you’re doing great on your goals, congratulations!

I'd love to chat with you!

