ROW80 Update 7-27

I’m doing overtime at the dreaded day job this week. Yay and ugh! Here is a quick recap of the last three days.

  • Added 2122 words to the WIP (Virtual Perihelion) and the outline is starting to produce some interesting material. Can’t wait until this weekend when I’ll finally have time to sift through it all. After all the wonderful comments on WriteWay Pro on Sunday I have decided to do a pair of reviews on it. The first will be on Manon Eileen’s site in a couple weeks, I’ll keep you posted.
  • Staying solid on 750words with a 23-day streak. Loving the program enough that I’m thinking of becoming a patron. At $4 a month its a steal, in my opinion, just for the motivation it gives.
  • I’m slowly getting into Characters, Emotion and Viewpoint by Nancy Kress. Overtime tends to bite into my reading time so there will be a marathon of reading this weekend.
  • I have three posts queued currently. Going well here at the moment.
  • All good on the treadmill, I’m enjoying the slowly slimming me (smile).

I’ll be guest posting for the Life List Club on Friday over at Diana Ligaya’s site. I hope you’ll join me and the rest of the LLC writers for great advice on setting, maintaining and achieving our goals.

How has your week been so far?

Peaceful Journeys!

About Gene Lempp

Gene Lempp is a writer blending elements of alternate history, the paranormal, fantasy, science fiction and horror for dark and delicious fun. He unearths stories by digging into history, archeology, myth and fable in his Designing from Bones blog series. β€œOnly the moment is eternal and in a moment, everything will change,” sums the heart of his philosophy. You can find Gene at his Blog, Twitter, Facebook, Goodreads, WANATribe, Google+, Pinterest and StumbleUpon.
This entry was posted in ROW80 Updates. Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to ROW80 Update 7-27

  1. rockfreak says:

    Well done on your progress so far. Hope you’ll find time for your reading.

  2. kerrymeacham says:

    You’re doing a great job ROWbro. You seem to be in the habit mode, where everything is rolling along. Just keep doing what you’re doing.

  3. L.S. Engler says:

    Ugh, I’m usually stuck in the too-much-dreaded-day-job(s) situation; it can be a killer, but it definitely helps me appreciate when I do have time to write. Keep up the great work! The book you’ve started sounds interesting, too, so I look forward to reading your thoughts on that when you start getting into it more.

  4. Lisa Rose says:

    Great job on all of your goals! I have the whole spending-way-too-much-time-on-the-day-job issue this week as well. Don’t you hate when life gets in the way of writing? So inconsiderate πŸ˜›

    Good luck with the rest of the week!

  5. Fantastic job on hitting all of those goals πŸ™‚ Yay you! Sorry to hear about the overtime. Keep up the great work!

  6. amy kennedy says:

    And here I am complaining about a staycation! You are doing great and inspiring me to do better. I need to get in the habit of queuing posts for my blog. And I’m definately checking out 750words.

    • Gene Lempp says:

      750words is definitely worth it. Great motivation for those days when the mind and fingers aren’t on speaking terms. Queuing is nice for stress relief and if another idea strikes you, well then we can always shift things how we want. Thanks much for the comments πŸ™‚

  7. Ruth Nestvold says:

    Great progress, Gene, especially with overtime! I’m never good at getting writing done when the day joy eats me up. 😐

    I keep hearing more and more about 750 words. Maybe I’ll have to give it a spin.

    • Gene Lempp says:

      One of the things I do during weeks like this when I know free time will be at a premium is to double up 750words with writing on my WIP first thing in the morning. It only takes about 20 minutes or so. I’ll pick one or two subjects I need to flesh out, write quickly and then copy/paste it over into my WIP notes. Later when I have more time I can dissect the notes.

      Give it a try it’s one of the best things I’ve found in recent days. (Thanks to Sonia G. Medeiros for pointing this great program out).

  8. Kait Nolan says:

    Woo hoo! Keep up that streak!

  9. jamilajamison says:

    Well done, Gene, and thanks again for the 750words rec. I’ll be on the lookout for your LLC guest post later in the week.

  10. Sounds like you’re doing so well! Good for you. πŸ˜€ I’m way behind on all my reading.

  11. Em says:

    Sounds like you are getting lots down even though you are doing overtime…very impressive! Hope the weekend goes as planned!

  12. Great job on your word count AND your slowly slimming you. πŸ™‚

  13. Gene, you are doing fantastic! I also love that you share your positive outlook on your outline taking on a life of its own. You are an inspiration. Keep going! πŸ™‚

I'd love to chat with you!

