ROW80 Update 7-24

It was a great week. Busy, of course. Productive, very!

Here’s how it went:

  • The outline for my WIP is moving along nicely with 3635 words added this week, well over my goal. I didn’t add in on Wednesday or Friday but am still working towards finding time to work on it daily (which is a goal for my Write It Forward class). Oh, I also officially decided to use WriteWayPro yesterday. Love the platform, easy to use, charts progress and keeps everything bundled all in one place. Way easier then flipping between 200 Word and Excel files. (Yes, I’d been doing it all the hard way).
  • I have a 20-day streak going on 750words and have doubled it up with both my outlining and first drafts of blog posts over the past week. Both have worked well.
  • I started Characters, Emotion & Viewpoint by Nancy Kress yesterday. Nothing to report here yet, other then that the second book of the four I plan to read during this cycle is started.
  • By the end of the day I will have 3 posts queued, so the adjustment I made to this goal is going well. Thanks, Kerry!
  • Treadmill walks on Wednesday and Friday went well. My wife is noticing the difference after just a few weeks (but, I think she may be a bit biased *grins*).

Okay, that is all for this update. How has your week been?

Peaceful Journeys!

About Gene Lempp

Gene Lempp is a writer blending elements of alternate history, the paranormal, fantasy, science fiction and horror for dark and delicious fun. He unearths stories by digging into history, archeology, myth and fable in his Designing from Bones blog series. β€œOnly the moment is eternal and in a moment, everything will change,” sums the heart of his philosophy. You can find Gene at his Blog, Twitter, Facebook, Goodreads, WANATribe, Google+, Pinterest and StumbleUpon.
This entry was posted in ROW80 Updates and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to ROW80 Update 7-24

  1. Kerry Meacham says:

    I’m glad you had a great week there ROWbro. Keep it up. Going to post mine now.

  2. Katy Bennett says:

    Congrats on all the progress, hope it continues. I downloaded scrivner recently because my hard drive was becoming a mess of different folders and docs for the wip.

  3. yikici says:

    Very organised and focused -I am impressed. Keep up the good work -hope the progress pans out as you would like it to.

    You mention using WriteWayPro -I am assuming it is a similar software to Scrivener have you ever tried it? I would be curious to find out which you prefer if you have.

  4. It sounds like a really great week! Hang in there. I like how you have a variety of goals that add up to a successful week.

  5. Sounds like you had an awesome week πŸ™‚ Never heard of WriteWayPro before, might have to check it out.

    • Gene Lempp says:

      Thanks to everyone πŸ™‚

      I haven’t used Scrivener but I will take a look at it and possibly review what I find, compare/contrast in a later post.

      The multiple goals do add up to a great deal in the end, however in the next round I’ll probably trim them back a bit. There are some hectic moments in the week but it has been teaching me to me more organized which is part of what I wanted to accomplish.

  6. rockfreak says:

    Yes, it sure seems like a productive week although I don’t know why no one likes Word anymore. I tried to use programs especially designed for writers but found them way too complex for me.

    • Gene Lempp says:

      Thanks to all of you πŸ™‚

      I don’t have anything against Word, I do have something against having to wrangle 100’s of files just to work. WriteWay merges a word processor with an organization tree, storyboard, etc. Very easy to use and has a well-written help system. I did the 30 day demo before purchasing just to kick the tires first. It basically puts 4 of the programs I had been using into one. Much easier than what I was doing.

      (Nicole) Sorry, but it doesn’t have a Mac version. I’m a PC-type and not sure what software is out there for the Mac.

  7. I also had a day or two with no work towards my WIP…I find it hard to work on it everyday, which is I have weekly goals (thank goodness for that).

    I should check out these writer softwares. I use a Mac though, have to see if they work…

    I was also thinking about reading that book by Nancy Kress. Let me know how it is.

    Great work this week!

  8. alberta ross says:

    not heard of Writeway Pro – have tried Scrivner but am waiitng for the beta to transform into a swan!!! – my old machine doesnt handle betas very well – I keep thinking I can organize Word but still end up with a mass of files which all have to be opened and fiddled with – tell myself there has to be easier ways

    looks like your week went well – all the best for the coming week.

  9. yikici says:

    It certainly sounds similar to Scrivener.

    @Nicole Scrivener has versions for Mac as well as PC (The PC version is currently available as a beta -I can’t wait for it to become the final product).

    @Gene if you do manage to compare the two; I will look forward to reading it πŸ™‚ so far Scrivener has made writing a simpler process for me. The projects are manageable under one file, with storyboards, character/location sketches, research inclusion, snapshots and the best is the compile options!

    • Gene Lempp says:

      WriteWay has everything you listed, as well as, charting to track the progress/daily word count needs/production schedule. They do sound very similar. Thanks for pointing Nicole in the right direction πŸ™‚

  10. yikici says:

    You are very welcome πŸ™‚ Scrivener has also added progress trackers as you have mentioned -seems like an identical tool πŸ™‚

  11. Stacy Green says:

    Wow, Gene. You’re kicking some serious butt on your goals. Good for you. I need to use Scrivenor, Its Mac version is out there, and I like it, but I don’t like change, lol.

  12. Jenny Hansen says:

    Go, Gene!! I’ll be particularly interested to hear how you like the software, and the book…both those are on my list to check out.

    So the wife is noticing the new lean Gene writing machine, huh? Woot!

  13. Impressive week, Gene! So my forty Word files aren’t the way to go, eh? I’ll have to go kick some tires. I’ll join the chorus interested in what you find helpful about the book, too.

    And exercise too? Dang, I have to go brush up my goals! πŸ™‚

  14. What a productive week. Good going on the 20 day streak. I have Kress’s book and it’s been a while since I read it. Good idea – I probably should add reading one book on craft a week to my goals. Thumbs up for the treadmill. πŸ™‚

  15. deniz says:

    You’re doing great, congratulations! Which reminds me, I’m getting closer and closer to vacation time and haven’t set up my blog posts for then at all…

    • Gene Lempp says:

      Thanks to everyone for the incredible support πŸ™‚

      I’ll be doing a review of Nancy Kress’ book and I’ll add doing a review of Scrivener, WriteWay and possibly one or two other writing platforms to my list for the Monday blog expansion.

      Stacy: Change is good IF it makes our work more efficient.

      Jen: Yes (smile). Thanks.

      Nancy: Try out the demo versions and see what you think. We all work a bit differently so it’s what works for YOU that counts the most.

      Robin: We should always be increasing and polishing our skills as writers. A chapter or two a day is plenty. Thanks much.

      Deniz: Always good to have a buffer for when life occurs πŸ™‚

  16. Diana L says:

    Great progress on your ROW80 goals! . I haven’t used WriteWay Pro myself but it’s great that you’ve found a solution outside of switching between multiple programs! That would drive me batty! AND exercise on top of it all? You’re on top of the world!

  17. Sounds like you’re doing awesome, Gene!

  18. Awesome! I’m reworking my goals this week. Trying to fit them to what I need now as I work on my MIP outline. I’ll have to check out that software. It sounds interesting! And now that I’ve read Kristen Lamb’s post…I see just how many exclamation points I use. (Oh well…they’re not in my MIP though. :D)

  19. Manon Eileen says:

    This is great, Gene, keep up the good work πŸ˜€

  20. Ruth Nestvold says:

    Wow, great progress, Gene! Love the links you collect, btw – just stumbled upon your blog and added you to my Twitter feed. πŸ™‚

  21. hawleywood40 says:

    A 20-day streak of 750 words is beyond awesome – congrats! I’ve done well with my fitness goals – in the gym at least 4X per week for 1/2 hour on the treadmill and then weight/toning work, plus some swimming thrown in on off-days. Had a co-worker say “you’re losing weight” yesterday, which made me grin like an idiot : ). The writing goal is going more slowly, but I had an excellent Saturday with some real breakthroughs in the novel and that gave me a much needed re-energizing!

    • Gene Lempp says:

      Pat: Thanks πŸ™‚

      Sonia: As long as they aren’t in your MIP! That would rough! (grins). Best of luck on adjusting your goals, I think you are doing great.

      Manon: Thanks, you too πŸ™‚

      Ruth: Thanks for the follow Ruth, following you now as well. Enjoy the links. There is a ton of great information floating around the blogsphere.

      Hawley: Great job on the work out schedule, you are way more motivated then I am. It’s a great feeling to get compliments though. The main goal is always progress, stick with the writing and the breakthroughs and bursts will come on their own time.

I'd love to chat with you!

