ROW80 Update 7-20

Just a quick update today. If you are viewing this on my Home Page, the new Designing from Bones post is directly under this update.

So far this week…

  • I’ve added 2066 words to the WIP outline. Well on target for the week and happy with the way things are progressing.
  • I’m on a 16 day streak for 750 words and loving it. I’ve been able to double it up with my outlining and posts which is working out well for my overall efficiency.
  • I’m lining up Characters & Viewpoint to read starting this weekend. Still well on target for to finish all 4 books this month. Save the Cat was awesome and I wrote a review that I’ll post when I launch my new post cycle in September.
  • Treadmill went well on Monday. Managing the walks myself rather than letting the machine dictate things is a major improvement for now. Perhaps in a month or so I’ll try the planned versions again and see how it goes.
  • I now have one queued post and will have one to two more by the next update.

Hope everyone’s week is going well so far.

Peaceful Journeys!

About Gene Lempp

Gene Lempp is a writer blending elements of alternate history, the paranormal, fantasy, science fiction and horror for dark and delicious fun. He unearths stories by digging into history, archeology, myth and fable in his Designing from Bones blog series. “Only the moment is eternal and in a moment, everything will change,” sums the heart of his philosophy. You can find Gene at his Blog, Twitter, Facebook, Goodreads, WANATribe, Google+, Pinterest and StumbleUpon.
This entry was posted in ROW80 Updates and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to ROW80 Update 7-20

  1. rockfreak says:

    Well done so far. Keep doing what you’re doing. (Ok, don’t throw tomatoes. I just wrote 1,500 words so nonsense is allowed.)
    I’m weeping for breaking my 750 words streak though. (Vacations… 😐 )

    • Gene Lempp says:

      Thanks! No tomatoes allowed 🙂

      I can understand about breaking the streak. 750words is not only fun it is addictive (writer crack?). Don’t worry about breaking the streak though, it just gives you fresh motivation to make a new one.

  2. Kerry Meacham says:

    We’re getting there ROWbro.

  3. Manon Eileen says:

    Keep up the good work, Gene! 😀

  4. Going great guns here, Gene! I’m jealous, but I’ll manage to deal with it! 😀

  5. Stacy Green says:

    Great job, Gene! I’m jealous that you’re outlining is going so well. I have lots of ideas for my new WIP but as a pantster, I still have trouble getting that outline down without writing some.

    Can’t wait for your review for Save the Cat. I’ve heard it’s for screenplays. Does it apply itself to fiction pretty easily?

    • Gene Lempp says:

      Nancy: No jealousy allowed, we only compete against ourselves 🙂 Thanks for the compliment!

      Stacy: Well, as I pointed out once before I’m a hybrid. What I have been doing is taking a subject (or two) that I want to expand on and then open writing about it when I do 750words. After I’m done, I can then dissect that material for gems, clean it up and put it in my main writing file. So far, this is working well and it lets me use both my plotter and pantser halves.

      Save the Cat was awesome, recommend it and yes it equates over to novel writing very well.

  6. Stacy Green says:

    Gene, that’s right, you did say that. I need to try that. I’ve just been working on the WIP here and there, and I need to get more organized with it.

    Thanks! I’m definitely going to pick up a copy of Save the Cat:)

  7. K.B. Owen says:

    Go Gene! Woo-hoo!

  8. Four books going at once……Impressive! I’ve always been a fan of having a few projects rolling around my brain at the same time… Good luck this week. ~ Nadja

    • Gene Lempp says:

      Nadja: Sorry for the confusion, I’m Reading four books during this cycle of ROW80, only writing one. Thanks for the comment 🙂

      Tiffany: Things have been going well so far. Even the one goal I had to restate taught me to think through how I set goals to begin with. Thanks for the comment and compliment 🙂

  9. You are kicking Row80’s rear! Way to go Gene, I’m glad to see the morning 750 is helping you out. Adding to the WIP is our ultimate goal as writers, right? Keep it up!

    I can’t wait for your Cat review.

  10. jamila says:

    Rolling right along! Congrats on all the progress!

  11. Awesome!!! Good for you. 😀

  12. Isn’t it nice to have blog posts ‘in the bag’ so to speak?

    • Gene Lempp says:

      Pat: Oh yes, it is a huge pressure relief to have a few saved up as a safety net. It also allows greater flexibility. Thanks for the comment!

      Jen: I’m right with you, I love seeing other people, writers or not, achieve their goals and dreams. Life is too short to waste it in fear and indecision. I’m glad I was able to help. You are a great person, Jen, and a great writer. Stay with your dreams, always. Peace 🙂

  13. Jennie B says:

    One of my favorite things about blogging is to watch other writers achieve their dreams. I just came to give you a big thank you. Your words touched me right down to the core, and you’re right if we don’t ever do it we will always be asking, what if?

  14. hawleywood40 says:

    You’re inspiring me, Gene – I’ve felt kind of chaotic and all over the place this week, but not in a good “getting things done” kind of way. Hoping to regroup this weekend! Way to go on accomplishing so many different things. I too like having a few posts stockpiled.

    • Gene Lempp says:

      Glad I could inspire you Hawley! I know what chaos is like and what a disruption it can be. One big reason why I want to have a few posts ready to go. Thanks for the comment 🙂

I'd love to chat with you!

