ROW80 Update 7-17

Today is the next ROW80 update and I’m still moving along well, with one exception, but we’ll get to that in a minute. I’ve enjoyed participating in ROW80. It has turned out to be exactly what I needed to get things moving forward again and has opened a host of opportunities to me.

The thing that stands out is how powerful the urge is to ensure that my goals are made each week. Sometimes it is easy and I seem to breeze right through, other times it is as if I’m trying to call up the power of the universe to move a pebble.

What has helped the most is having a partner in the group. Kerry Meacham is my ROWbro. Having someone to bounce my goal ideas off of before ROW80 started allowed me to refine them and keep them realistic. Having a partner to talk with during the dark moments when I felt overwhelmed has been a great benefit.

I would encourage everyone to take the time to find a buddy that you can email, bounce ideas off of, and assist each other in staying faithful to the goals you each are aspiring to achieve. After all, we chose our goals because they are things that we know will advance our work and improve our lives. Isn’t it worth doing everything you can to protect your dreams.

Okay, on to the goals from this week.

  • I was able to write on the novel-in-progress two of the last four days and am right on target. l added 533 words on Thursday and 1088 on Saturday for a weekly total of 3189. All good on the goal here and I am noticing increased concentration when I sit to write. I’d like to make this a daily event and am moving in that direction.
  • I am also right on track with 750words (actually typing this on it right now) and am on a 14 day streak. I could take a day off but I find the consistency is more beneficial to me. The thing I had hoped to achieve with 750words was being able to type at the speed I think. 750 words challenges me to type at full speed while organizing my thoughts and I am seeing a definite increase as a result of using the system. Besides, when you go on a long streak they give you badges, lol! Yeah I know its silly, but hey whatever keeps you moving forward with things can’t be a bad thing.
  • I finished Save the Cat on Thursday. This is a fantastic book and I recommend it to everyone. The screenwriting principles that Blake Snyder brings up equate well to novel writing. I’ll be doing a review and highlights post on the book at some point in the future.
  • The treadmill is no longer killing me but then I stepped back off the Aerobic workouts that are designed for high school athletes and took one that in more in tune with a forty-year-old mans capabilities. I walked on Friday. I did not use the treadmill on Wednesday, but I was in Chicago at the Art Institute and logged about 5 miles including a dozen or more trips up and down a major staircase so I think that covers the Wednesday walk.
  • Now to the point that has become an issue. The queued blogs are not going the way I had hoped. After speaking with Kerry about this he came up with a good suggestion and I think I am going to restate the goal. I simply want 15 queued posts together by the end of ROW80. That means two per week of any type, so long as they get done. From this point forward, I should have a new one to report with each update.

Well that’s all for this week. How has your week been? What challenges and victories have you experienced during your ROW80 travels?

Peaceful Journeys!

About Gene Lempp

Gene Lempp is a writer blending elements of alternate history, the paranormal, fantasy, science fiction and horror for dark and delicious fun. He unearths stories by digging into history, archeology, myth and fable in his Designing from Bones blog series. β€œOnly the moment is eternal and in a moment, everything will change,” sums the heart of his philosophy. You can find Gene at his Blog, Twitter, Facebook, Goodreads, WANATribe, Google+, Pinterest and StumbleUpon.
This entry was posted in ROW80 Updates and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to ROW80 Update 7-17

  1. Kerry Meacham says:

    Nice job there Gene. I posted on my update how working with a ROWbro, you, has helped me too. Humm, I guess if it’s two women they’ll call it a ROWwo? B-/ Anyway, great job and keep ‘er going.

  2. Ha ha I had to laugh because Kerry answered what was to be my question, what would you call a female ROWer. I could also suggest ROWfe or ROWgi (female or girl). Anyways congratulations on meeting your goals!

    What do you mean by blogs queued? Like write 15 blog posts to be used later kind of thing?

    I’m going to try to write 2 more blog posts tonight for posting later this week.

    • Gene Lempp says:

      Kerry is a master of acronyms. Yes, queued means ones that can be used later. This allows me two things: a) I can promo the following weeks post from the current one; b) If I am having a rough week, I have posts ready to go in advance and am still fine. I don’t plan to save them forever, just allow a buffer against the chaos life throws our way at times.

      Smart thinking on putting together your posts early. You’ll find it makes the overall experience much calmer when you’re not pressing up against a deadline.

      Thanks for the congrats πŸ™‚

  3. It is handy to have posts ready to go. It does take the pressure off and I find that I have more time on weekends to write them than during the week.

  4. jamilajamison says:

    Great to hear that you’re rolling right along, Gene. I’ve been kicking around the idea of queued posts as well. I have days when I have a burst of energy and a whole list of ideas for things to blog about, but when I save those ideas for later, they usually disappear. I think I might just set aside a day or two each week to write out a handful of blog posts that I can throw up later.

    And I like the idea of a ROWbro. I have a friend who has just started tracking her progress on a writing comm on Livejournal, so we’ve been trying to write together each evening. Doing so is a lot of fun, because we can chat about our relative WIPs and share our highs and lows.

    • Gene Lempp says:

      Hi Jamila! Queued blogs are a suggestion that comes from Kristen Lamb. It’s smart blogging. After all, most of us are writers and the focus needs to be on our novel, short story or poetry, blogging should be secondary to those things. By creating a back log we give ourselves space to breathe and write.

      The “buddy system” isn’t just for swimming or ROW80. Having a friend to watch out for us, help when we are down, listen when we need an ear, etc. is essential to life. I’m glad you and your friend are connecting and I know that you will both find strength and benefit through the friendship.

      Thanks for your excellent comments πŸ™‚

  5. tiabach says:

    Impressive results, Gene. I want a female ROW80 counterpart (although I’m not sure I could come up with as cool a name as ROWbro). The key to this challenge for me has been the supportive comments. Thanks for being part of that today. Congrats!

    • Gene Lempp says:

      I could not agree more. Support is essential in all aspects of life and makes the road easier to travel. Glad I could give you support today and thanks so much for returning the favor πŸ™‚

  6. alberta ross says:

    Looks like a good week – I have been trying to have blogs in hand for a year now but it hasn’t happened – occasionaly I get two ahead – nightmare!!!

    glad all is going well – all the best for this week

    • Gene Lempp says:

      Fortunately, most of the ones I want to queue are for an intended expansion (adding a third standard post per week) that does not currently exist. All the same is not an easy task which is why I adjusted the goal but I am determined to accomplish it. The benefits outweigh the short-term stress.

      Thanks for the comment, Alberta πŸ™‚

  7. Jenny Hansen says:

    I adore the idea of a ROWbro! I’m gonna have to get me one of those. πŸ™‚

    Great job, Gene! And thanks for all the support you give to the rest of us!

    • Gene Lempp says:

      Jenny: I highly recommend finding an “accountability partner”. Nothing makes the road easier then having a friend along for the ride. Thanks for the compliment πŸ™‚

      L.S.: I’m right with you, but I think we can sustain that consistency by being willing to adjust things when they stop working in a manner that is effective. One of the keys to achieving our goals is staying flexible. Thanks much for your comment πŸ™‚

  8. L.S. Engler says:

    I’m a BIG believer in riding a consistency wave as long as you can, because who knows when you’ll fall into a little bit of a rut and you need the extra cushioning? So keep up the good work and thanks for stopping by my update, too. Yay more people to desperately attempt to follow effectively!

  9. Marcia says:

    Great progress, Gene! Re queueing posts-I can manage to queue 5 days ahead which helps if I run into a day that I get nothing done. Yesterday I was out of town and did no writing at all. I’m trying to get at least one day’s post queued for 2-3 months in advance. My word count has suffered, but I’m trying to catch up be Wednesday.
    I’d like a ROWsis or ROWg/f to work with…I can see how it would help.

    Hi, Kerry!

    • Gene Lempp says:

      ROWsis is a great term. I think that is my winner for the day. I’d highly recommend doing this.

      I did manage to get two posts prepped yesterday so the new approach is working well. Don’t worry too much about that missed day, we do have lives that require our participation at times not to mention a need to recharge the creative batteries πŸ™‚

  10. Jody Moller says:

    great job on your goals Gene. I agree with the other commentors I am definately going to have to get myself ROWpal. Thanks for leaving a comment on my post – and by the way Disney on Ice was great!

  11. Gene! You are ROCKING in Row80! Kerry is a great mate and I’m glad you two are helping each other. Partnering up is such a great idea.

    Keep going! πŸ™‚

  12. kerrymeacham says:

    Wow!!! Thanks for the compliments guys. You give as good as you get ROWbro. The feeling’s mutual. Should we sing Kumbaya now or something? πŸ˜‰

  13. It sounds like you’re doing so well! Congrats! Love the idea for a buddy system.

    • Gene Lempp says:

      Kerry: LOL! Sounds good ROWbro. Maybe “Stand by Me” for the song though πŸ™‚

      Sonia: Thanks Sonia! I highly recommend the buddy system, icing on the fantastic ROWcake!

  14. EllieAnn says:

    I’m always encouraged after reading about what you’re doing!
    -I love the Chicago art museum! So many great works there.
    -the buddy system for meeting goals is SO helpful, I have a writer I always call when I’m feeling stuck, or I don’t feel like blogging, or to hash out a plot hole, and she does the same with me. Sometimes the answers come to you while you’re explaining the problem!
    Great job on your goals!!

    • Gene Lempp says:

      The Chicago Art Institute was a complete blast. My wife and I had a grand time and plan to go back in a month or so. There is always more to see.

      I agree (and am just like this) that answers often come while we are explaining an issue to a friend. It’s as if we could have the conversation with ourselves in a mirror but getting the reinforcement and advice of someone we respect adds to the motivation.

      Thanks for the great compliments!

  15. Pingback: Blog Treasures 7-30 « Gene Lempp's Blog

I'd love to chat with you!

