Commit to Yourself

Hello! Yesterday marked the launch of a new writer support group called the Life List Club. The Life List Club is a network of writers, published and non-published that are working to support each other in their goals. As a part of the launch and Club, we will be guest posting for each other on occasion. Today’s post comes to us from sci-fi, fantasy and horror writer Sonia G. Medeiros. You can also see my (first ever) guest post on Jess Witkins’ Happiness Project on what the children of Pokemon taught me about setting goals. For those expecting Blog Treasures, I will do a Sunday edition that will be available tomorrow morning.

I’m excited and honored to have Sonia here today as my first official guest poster! Witty, charming and always positive, Sonia has been a great and supportive friend to me since I started blogging. And now I’ll hand the reigns over to Sonia with good advice on how to commit to ourselves. Thanks Sonia!

Commit to Yourself

I’ve been telling stories for as long as I can remember. As soon as I could string a few sentences together on the page, I began to write my stories down. I started and finished dozens of short stories. I started several novels…but didn’t finish any of them.

Sometime around the beginning of my college years, I dropped out of creative writing (unless you count those organic chemistry lab reports) all together. Over the next 15 years, I would write in fits and starts but rarely found even a bit of the creative flow I’d had before. Then, last year I started The Artist’s Way and was soon inspired to start (and finish) a short story.

My first short story in 15 years!

At that moment, I made a commitment to myself: I would be a published author!

Of course, it’s not as easy as all that. First, I had to abandon the whole “aspiring writer” bit. Someone who writes with the intention of creating a fiction or nonfiction work is a writer. It’s as simple as that…it’s just a matter of claiming the title (regardless of the sideways looks and giggles you might get from the folks that know you too well). Next, I had to commit (publicly) to doing whatever needed doing in order to be an author. That part’s where both the joy and the terror have come in.

I started a blog, dove into the deep end of social media (not being an extrovert…that was something of a challenge for me at first), taken classes, read books on the craft of writing, written flash fiction and short stories, started a novel (which is still in progress), I’ve pushed myself and then not pushed myself hard enough, almost given up and recommitted, and I’ve loved every minute of it (even when I was complaining to myself about everything).

In all of this, I’ve learned two very powerful lessons. One is that there is an amazing community of writers online, people who have cheered me on, inspired me, made me laugh, and (very nicely) kicked my backside when I’ve needed it. I feel blessed and overjoyed to be part of such a diverse and talented group of people. The second lesson is that the learning is never done and it doesn’t matter so much where it all ends up (don’t get me wrong, I do want to end up on the bestseller list…#1 if I can :D) as much as what I learn along the way and who I meet.

I’m so excited about the Life List Club. It’s going to an invaluable way for us to support each other as we strive for our dreams. I love being inspired by what others are doing and I love watching people soar. We all need a cheering section and a little help from time to time to stay on the straight and narrow. And sometimes we need someone to pick us up, dust us off and shove us right back into the ring. I think this new group will be all that and more and I’m so glad to be part of it.

Sonia G Medeiros is a writer of fantasy, science fiction, and horror. She’s the author of more than a dozen short stories and flash fiction pieces, blogs at WordPress, and is working on her first novel, a dark fantasy. When she’s not wandering along the tangled paths of her wild imagination, she wrangles home life with one fabulous husband, two amazing, homeschooled children, four goldfish, three dogs, one frog and one cat who considers himself lord of the manor.

About Gene Lempp

Gene Lempp is a writer blending elements of alternate history, the paranormal, fantasy, science fiction and horror for dark and delicious fun. He unearths stories by digging into history, archeology, myth and fable in his Designing from Bones blog series. “Only the moment is eternal and in a moment, everything will change,” sums the heart of his philosophy. You can find Gene at his Blog, Twitter, Facebook, Goodreads, WANATribe, Google+, Pinterest and StumbleUpon.
This entry was posted in LifeListClub and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Commit to Yourself

  1. Pingback: Life is Worth Loving by Jennie Bennett | Sonia G Medeiros

  2. Thank you for hosting me, Gene. I’m pretty excited to be guest posting. 😀

    • Gene Lempp says:

      I’m thrilled to have you as my first guest post Sonia! You’ve been an incredibly supportive friend from the beginning and I appreciate the friendship we have built 🙂

  3. Catie Rhodes says:

    Gene, thanks for hosting Sonia. Sonia–what great words. So much of what you said is The Truth™. We never stop learning, and this is terrifying. I look forward to my Life List Club adventures with you guys. 😀

  4. Jennie B says:

    Sonia, you embodied that feeling of struggling to be a writer so well. I totally understand the ups and downs you’ve been through and I am so glad you picked it back up!

  5. Marcia says:

    Gene, Sonia what an uplifting, honest post! I think you are not alone in your journey. We are all going through those ups and downs at one time or another!

    @Catie We are so looking forward to having you with us!
    You’re right Gene, we have a great group of supportive new friends!

  6. lynmidnight says:

    Life List Club? Okay then, I’ll be watching out for you guys and your posts. I love it when I see that I’m not the only one who struggles to put pen on paper sometimes, and I commend you for committing to The Artist’s Way, Sonia, it’s one of them good ones. I’m more of a Natalie Goldberg fan but ultimately both ladies’ practices involve free-writing. It seems to be a sort of flow-re-enforcer. Anyway, thanks Gene, for featuring Sonia, and I’ll head to see your guest post now. :O)

  7. lynmidnight says:

    Are you serious? I would LOVE to! But only if everyone wants me. 😉

    • Gene Lempp says:

      Violeta: You’re in, we are non-exclusive. Just contact Marcia Richards 🙂

      Kathy: Sonia is awesome, isn’t she!

      Jess: Oh yes, I can see it. Like “Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants” except for me being a guy of course…maybe I should have said “Dead Poets Society”. Good either way 😀

  8. K.B. Owen says:

    I love the lessons you took away from your experience, Sonia. Well put!

  9. Jess Witkins says:

    I just had a giggle fit reading our name: The Life List Club. Visions of an anthology popped in my head and a book with all of our names on it…

    Can you see it???

    Now look what you’ve started, Sonia. LOL

  10. Awesome post, Sonia. I want to join the life list club, but am hesitant…how do y’all do everything you do AND do this? Where are you getting the extra time in your day, lol? Hugs…

    • Gene Lempp says:

      Hi Christine! If you are interested in joining the Life List Club head over to Marcia Richards site and drop her a line. She’ll be happy to fill you in on the details 🙂

  11. You guys are all so wonderful! Thank you for all of your kind remarks! And thanks again to Gene. 😀

    Jess: Uhoh…an anthology. I can actually see it. 😀

  12. I think The Life List Club is a fabulous concept. Gene and Sonia you both are the epitome of that philosophy because you both are so good at cheering people on anyway. This post is fabulous, I love learning more about all my fellow blogger friends.

  13. Pingback: Life List Club | Regimented Creativity

  14. Pingback: Commit to Yourself | Sonia G Medeiros

I'd love to chat with you!

