Blog Treasures 11-19

Welcome to Blog Treasures, my weekly roundup of the best of the blogsphere from the last week. I’m working hard, gearing up for NaNoWriMo, so for you NaNoites I’ve added a section of links just for you (although the writing advice contained in them applies to all writers). Enjoy the links!

Featured

Two this week.

First is a post that gave me a wonderful epiphany and hope it will for you as well. Jami Gold hosted the wonderful Victoria Mixon with Story Climax: The Whole Point.

Second is a fantastic interview (the first ever) with Piper Bayard’s mysterious and brilliant writing partner Holmes on Ellie Soderstrom’s blog: What I Want to be When I Grow Up: A Spook. Holmes is an incredible man, stop in and drop him a comment.

NaNo Fever!

NaNoWriMo: Why Do You Write? by best-selling author Bob Mayer. Also from Bob: NaNoWriMo the Kernel Idea: The Alpha & Omega of Your Book.

Four Ways to Fix a Stalled Story by Janice Hardy.

More on Criticism, Confusion and NaNoWriMo Nausea from Larry Brooks at storyfix.

From Christi Craig (Write It Sideways contributor) How to Give Meaning to Every Word You Write.

Publishing & Social Media

How Book Festivals Can Help a Writer Out by Janice Hardy.

Why Must Queries be as Hard as Hunting Vampires by Lisa Gail Green.

Why Writers Need A Platform by Kristen Lamb.

On the Craft of Writing

For many of us our internal editor is the greatest curse (I know its mine). The fabulous Kristen Lamb brings advice on how to handle this topic in: Editing – Are You Butchering Your Creativity? Also from Kristen this week: Structure 7 – Genre Matters.

From the Bookshelf Muse: Character Trait Independent & Weather: Summer.

Catie Rhodes takes an interesting look at what all fiction requires to be believable: A Grain of Truth.

Foreshadowing: How a Sore Thumb Can Prepare You For a Brutal Beating by Roz Morris.

Laura Drake of Writers In The Storm brings us a fantastic list of resources for writers in New & Improved Writer’s Toolbox.

Writers use a wide variety of tools to find and design their stories. Kathy Owen takes a look at one writers method in A Plot Wheel for Perry Mason.

Sherry Soule hosted Becca Puglisi (of Bookshelf Muse) this week with a great piece on Fiction Writing Tools: The Power of the Past.

From Edittorrent: Character Vs. Trait.

On the Writing Life

Only the Moment by Gene Lempp. This is a piece I wrote for ROW80. I hope you enjoy it.

James Killick continues to challenge our thinking with well-thought articles on life as a writers with What You Have to (un)learn to be a Writer.

Why Confidence is so Important for Writers by Elizabeth S. Craig. Elizabeth also hosted Anne R. Allen this week with 9 Pieces of Bad Writing Advice it’s Best to Ignore.

Jenny Hansen is one of the most positive people I know. This week she brings us upbeat advice on how to Hit the Reset Button When Life Kicks Our Creative Keister.

Every writer (and person and character) has a back story that formed how we live and think today. This week my friend Shea MacLeod hosted one of her sister Indie Chicks and one of my new favorite writers Heather Marie Adkins: Latchkey Kid.

Fun & Interesting Links

Many of you know I have a new kitten (and if not then I just let the cat out of the bag). Amy Shojai has excellent advice for pet owners on every subject imaginable. Here are two from this week that we found helpful: Pet ‘Net and Cat Intros & Cat Baths: Are You Insane?

Debra Eve (Later Bloomer) shows us another fantastic example of “it’s never too late to achieve” with Veteran Don Mittelstaedt: Still Blooming at 92!

The Political and Corporate Phrase Book by the incredible Mr. Holmes.

Humor and Funny Stuff by the fun and witty Leanne Shirtliffe.

Map of a 19th Century Woman’s Heart from the History Blog. Interesting post!

Jess Witkins brings us a stellar review of Night Fall (a shocking tale of terrorism) by Nelson Demille.

Television & Movies: Kait Nolan brings us More Thoughts on NBC’s Grimm. From Amanda Rudd: The Fairy Tale is Going Strong (Once Upon a Time & Grimm). The Walkers Vs. Humanity (The Walking Dead) by Tiffany A. White. Paranormal Activities by Sonia G. Medeiros. The Star Wars Mashup from Lynn Kelley.

Food & Recipes: The Holiday Season is coming and the blogosphere is full of fun and tasty treats. Sweet Obsessions by Marcia Richards. Recipe for Oh Yeah! by Sonia G. Medeiros (3 recipes). Want a super listing of a ton more recipes? Try Tiffany A. Whites MarvelOoous Thanksgiving Mashup.

About Gene Lempp

Gene Lempp is a writer blending elements of alternate history, the paranormal, fantasy, science fiction and horror for dark and delicious fun. He unearths stories by digging into history, archeology, myth and fable in his Designing from Bones blog series. “Only the moment is eternal and in a moment, everything will change,” sums the heart of his philosophy. You can find Gene at his Blog, Twitter, Facebook, Goodreads, WANATribe, Google+, Pinterest and StumbleUpon.
This entry was posted in Resources and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Blog Treasures 11-19

  1. kerrymeacham says:

    Great mashup….AGAIN. Nice job, ROWbro.

  2. Laura Drake says:

    Thanks for the mention, Gene! And thanks for the hours of research I’ll be doing on the other links, and avoiding my WIP!

  3. Jami Gold says:

    Thanks for the link love, Gene! I’m so glad the excerpt I chose from Victoria’s book resonated with everyone.

    It’s one of her shorter excerpts, so she asked me several times if I was *sure* that was the one I wanted. I kept telling her that it was perfect as it was and that I’d add a few paragraphs about how to apply it. That eye for potential must be the Maven in me, huh? :) Glad it worked out!

  4. I want to call you ROWbro even though I don’t totally get what it means. I’m okay with that.

    Thanks for the linky love. And you’re right: Jenny is one of the most positive people, but you’re right up there with her! :)

  5. K.B. Owen says:

    Thanks for the linky-love, Gene! You’ve got an impressive collection here – don’t know how you find the time, with NaNo and everything. Have a great weekend!

  6. Great list, Gene! As usual, I see a bunch I’ve yet to check out–and should! Have a super weekend. :)

  7. Marcia says:

    You’re keeping me busy today with all these interesting lnks, Gene. Thanks for includng me in this awesome list!

  8. EllieAnn says:

    This is great, so many fantastic links. You’re a superhero blog reader you know that? You need like a cape or something.
    And thanks SO much for featuring Holmes’ interview. A lot of my own misconceptions about the world of espionage dissolved as I talked to him.

  9. Jess Witkins says:

    Awesome links Gene! Thanks for including me. Looks like I’ll be busy reading again this weekend.

  10. lynnkelleyauthor says:

    What an awesome mashup, Gene. Wow, what a nice surprise to see my link included! Thanks so much! I’m looking forward to reading these links.

  11. Thanks for including me again, Gene – alongside many of my own favourites, too!

  12. Pingback: Monday Mentions: Cats, Dogs, Writing & CWA « Amy Shojai's Blog

  13. What a list! Gene, I’m going to have to save some of these to read when I’m stuffed full of turkey and can’t move off the sofa. Thank you so much for including me in your fabOoolous Blog Treasures.

    Happy Thanksgiving!

  14. becca puglisi says:

    What an awesome round-up. Thanks for the mention! Hope you had a great Thanksgiving!

    Becca @ The Bookshelf Muse

I'd love to chat with you!

