Blog Treasures 7-30

Welcome to my weekly roundup of the best Treasures I’ve found on the blogsphere during the past week. Due to a very long work week this weeks list will be a bit shorter than normal. For those of you interested in the Buddy System, I’ll be posting a piece on that tomorrow as a part of my ROW80 update. Glad you stopped by, enjoy the links!

On Publishing and Social Media

Time is precious and we all want to use it in the most effective way. Kait Nolan offers some excellent thoughts on how to do this in Efficiency 101: Is It a Value Add?

Every Tuesday, Kristen Lamb brings us sweet tidbits on how to make the most of our Twitter time. If you missed this weeks offering, take a minute and join her for this Twitter tip: Team-Building.

Bob Mayer explores a topic that is on the front line of the publishing world in Should your agent self-publish you? Can your agent self-publish you?.

On the Craft of Writing

Kristen Lamb explores 4 Writing Crutches that Insult the Readers Intelligence (and how avoiding them will give your writing that professional shine).

Larry Brooks (Story Engineering) continues his craft series with 5 More Mistakes That Will Expose You As A Rookie.

Jami Gold tackles two of the eternal debates of the writing world this week in What Drives A Story: Plot or Characters? and Should Books Have a Ratings System?

Revisions are always a hectic time. This week saw a pair of posts that offer excellent advice on polishing up our writing: Janice Hardy Five Ways to Kick Your Writing up a Notch and from Edittorrent The Words Not Spoken, The Steps Not Taken .

Are you a Word user but sure you are missing some of the great tools it offers? Jenny Hansen of More Cowbell brings us a detailed look at some of the key points of Word in A Microsoft Word Party.

Manon Eileen explores a new and interesting writing tool: Q10.

Angela Ackerman and Becca Puglisi from the Bookshelf Muse added a couple of entries this week that are worth a look: Character Traits: Dishonest and Weather Thesaurus Entry: Dew.

Fun Sites and Fan Fiction

Was Jack the Ripper a traveler moving from place to place with a longer history then most know? Catie Rhodes brings us a possible connection and answer to this question in The Servant Girl Annihilator.

Sometimes it feels like Science Fiction is invading every aspect of our lives from books to movies to unusual aspects of television shows. Jess Witkins looks into this topic in The Growing Trend of Sci-Fi.

Did Jesus, Mary or Elvis appear on your morning toast? Piper Bayard and Holmes bring us a hilarious post on this subject: A Time to Receipt.

Tiffany A. White brings us a fabOoolous review of some of the best shows on television in Converting Bad Cons to Good.

That’s all for this week. Be sure to check back tomorrow for a special ROW80 Update where I take a look at the power of the Buddy System and then on Wednesday as we go in search of a new batch of mythological creatures in my Designing from Bones series.

Peaceful Journeys!

About Gene Lempp

Gene Lempp is a writer blending elements of alternate history, the paranormal, fantasy, science fiction and horror for dark and delicious fun. He unearths stories by digging into history, archeology, myth and fable in his Designing from Bones blog series. “Only the moment is eternal and in a moment, everything will change,” sums the heart of his philosophy. You can find Gene at his Blog, Twitter, Facebook, Goodreads, WANATribe, Google+, Pinterest and StumbleUpon.
This entry was posted in Resources and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Blog Treasures 7-30

  1. kerrymeacham says:

    Mash Up Awesomeness Gene – You’ve got some real winners here bro. Nice job.

  2. Amanda Rudd says:

    Fantastic Mash-up as always! I don’t know how you have the patience to sift through so many blogs. It would scramble my brains.

    • Gene Lempp says:

      I have a “technique” for how to put the list together is an efficient manner. I’ll be sharing my secrets in a month or two in one of my Monday expansion posts. Hope you enjoy the links :)

  3. Stacy Green says:

    Wonderful mash-up, Gene! You do such a great job with this. Thanks!

  4. Jami Gold says:

    Wow! I’d missed a lot of these. Thanks for putting this together (and including mine). :)

  5. Catie Rhodes says:

    Thanks for the mention, Gene. I’m honored to be included in such a prestigious list.

    • Gene Lempp says:

      Catie: Always welcome :)

      Piper: The blog love is mutual, Piper. I always enjoy yours and Holmes’ posts. Well researched and presented. Thanks for the wonderful compliment :)

  6. Piper Bayard says:

    Gene, have I told you how much I enjoy your blog? You always have great mashups (with or without me), and I love your Designing from Bones series. Really interesting stuff. Thanks for these links, and thanks for the shout out. :)

  7. Thank you so much for the linkage – I’ve had a great number of hits today just because of you! You always post some golden links on your treasure post, and I appreciate it! I am looking forward to your Buddy System post tomorrow….I’ve always been a firm believer in the Buddy System. :)

    • Gene Lempp says:

      There are incredible number of advantages to the Buddy System. I plan to do several posts on the subject over the next couple months with this being the first. It’s too valuable to not share. Thanks for the great compliment :)

  8. EllieAnn says:

    great stuff! You have a good eye for great posts, I want to read them all! =)

  9. Jenny Hansen says:

    I’m with Catie…this is a bang-up list! Thanks for including me, Gene. :-)

    Now I’ve gotta carve out 30 minutes to go follow all these links…

  10. Great mash up – fun and informative. Keep them coming.

    • Gene Lempp says:

      Angela: Thanks, glad you are enjoying the posts :)

      Jess: Yes, definitely pick up Story Engineering. Absolutely, without a doubt, the best book on structure I’ve read. While there are others I quote and that add nicely to the concepts in SE, it is the core one.
      Always a pleasure to have you on the list, Jess :)

  11. Jess Witkins says:

    That’s more about Story Engineering. I’ll have to pick it up next time I’m at the bookstore. Sonia was talking about it as such a helpful tool for her.

    Thank you for allowing me space on your awesome mash up! You always find the greatest blogs.

  12. Manon Eileen says:

    Thanks for featuring me here once again, Gene :D I appreciate it!

  13. Amanda Rudd says:

    @Jess: Yes, you should definitely read Story Engineering. It’s absolutely fantastic addition to any writer’s bookshelf. It’s the first book I would recommend to anyone interested in story-telling in any format — novel, comic, film, etc.

    @Gene: I look forward to learning about your system for sifting through all those blogs and creating such great mash-ups.

I'd love to chat with you!

